Bulk or Tin?

Discussion in 'Pipe Tobacco' started by Just Smitty, Dec 20, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Just Smitty

Just Smitty Member

My local B&M carries SG 50g Squadron Leader tins for $17.55. They also carry bulk Squadron Leader for $7.30 an oz. I bought an oz of the bulk stuff and love it. Other online tobacconists carry it both ways as well. Are these the same thing?

2. OldSouled65

OldSouled65 Active Member

In my eyes they are just the exact same.

3. GlassEye

GlassEye Member

Wow, those prices are high, but availability is worth something I suppose.

4. cigrmaster

cigrmaster Member

I believe that the SG tobacco in the tins is the same as the bulk, I have seen however where the flakes are a bit thicker in the bulk form. I have noticed this on FVF and St James Flake but not Best Brown.

5. Johnny

Johnny Member

I've been smoking SG blends for a few years now and never noticed a difference in taste between bulk and tinned. I think as far as the flakes not being uniform in size is due to the very, very old machinery they use and they are a very small outfit. I wanna say they only employ something like 12 people. I'd go with the bulk for the difference in price. You save yourself a few bucks buying bulk!

umfunix likes this.
  6. SouthBound

SouthBound Active Member

Bulk is the same as tinned, at least for most every blend I've tried that comes both ways. Beyond price, bulk has another thing going for it in my experience. It comes a little drier. So, it's more ready to smoke, and you're paying for tobacco, not water.

umfunix and JescoWhite like this.
  7. Bear84

Bear84 Member

I usually opt for bulk if available. Tins are cool but expensive....would be nice if Briar Fox came in bulk...or I guess in it's case it would be a bale..

8. OldSouled65

OldSouled65 Active Member

You can get a lb can/tin for 41 dollars

9. Just Smitty

Just Smitty Member