1. This forum section is for discussing pipes, it is not for advertising in any fashion.

burning tongue

Discussion in 'Pipes' started by pipepuffer27, Apr 5, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. pipepuffer27

pipepuffer27 New Member

good day all im new to the pipe smoking i have been smoking my pipe for a month now and i have found my tongue feels like it is on fire and my voice has become very raspy sounding is this normal i have afficianado tobacco i was told the tobacco might be to harsh is this true??? thanx for any and all info

2. Brian Damage

Brian Damage Member

You are more than likely puffing too hard and getting tongue bite. As far as your throat... Are you inhaling the smoke?

3. ruffinogold

ruffinogold Ruffinogold-Mayor, I.R.G.E.--At Large. Mayor

What tobacco blend are you smoking ?

4. Hawkwood

Hawkwood Member

Many people puff too fast in order to keep the pipe lit. Dry out your baccy a bit and don't sweat a relight.:puffy:

5. IrishRover

IrishRover Active Member

Like the others stated.. You might want to slow it down a little, dry out the tobacco a little more..
    I have no clue what the tobacco you mentioned (afficianado tobacco) is . .. so I can't help much with that.

6. cobbsmoker

cobbsmoker Active Member

Are you smoking a house blend? Is it an aromatic?

7. pipepuffer27

pipepuffer27 New Member

ok lol yes i do inhale a bit i try not to but i'm a ex cigarette smoker so its kinda habit ..but I don't inhale the whole draw i got this tobacco called afficanadio no one I talked to has heard of it lol I live in a small town so my supply of tobacco is limited, but i'm gonna go to Edmonton to a real tobacco store and he will help me a bit with some better tobacco thanx again

8. LifeOfRiley

LifeOfRiley Active Member