1. If you cannot verify your email address or recover your password, you need to call your ISP and tell them to stop blocking your email from this site.
    Dismiss Notice

Captain Black harsh on the throat?

Discussion in 'Pipe Tobacco' started by Jomodeere, Mar 1, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Jomodeere

Jomodeere Member

Hey all,
    As you all know I've been smoking for about 2 months now and expanding my palate. Well today I smoked a bowl of CBW and about halfway through the bowl it just started getting harsh and heavy on my throat. Anybody else with this problem?

2. Sasquatch

Sasquatch Sales Account

3. Bri2k

Bri2k Active Member

I can't remember having that problem with CBW, but I've had that happen with other blends. I usually take it as a sign I've been smoking too much and too fast, so I grab a cold drink and wait until my throat feels better before lighting up another pipe.

4. Sasquatch

Sasquatch Sales Account

For me it's just a sign the blend has burley in it.

5. Mister Moo

Mister Moo Normal Cow Moderator Moderator

I never had that half-bowl problem. But I never got through more than a quarter of a bowl of Captain Black, either.

6. Major

Major Member

arggh. who put CB in my pouch !!! :suicide:

You're not the first person to have that issue with CB. Try something a little less tainted with toluene and paint esters :stunned: Get some Prince Albert or Carter Hall. You might even be midley allergic to the Captain.

7. Mister Moo

Mister Moo Normal Cow Moderator Moderator

+1. I was thinking that but didn't want to offend the legions of CBW/G lovers of whom, it appears, there are millions.

8. GlassSculptor

GlassSculptor Active Member

CBW was the first pipe tobacco I bought. I think I smoked about 4-5 bowls and finally tossed it in the bin. I don't remember it being harsh at all but I had just quit smoking RYO cig tobacco the day before. 25 years of inhaling develops calluses on the back of the throat I guess.