Cellaring Tobacco

Discussion in 'Pipe Tobacco' started by caleb442, Oct 3, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. caleb442

caleb442 Member

So this may be a stupid question but..... when cellaring tobacco in mason jars, is it necessary to heat the jars like you would with other items, or is it sufficient to just screw on the lid? I'm new to the idea of cellaring, but my stash is ever growing, hence the mason jars. Thanks in advance.

2. erickghint

erickghint Member

Screw the lid on and let 'em sit. You don't need to actually get rid of the air inside. It's needed to help the tobacco age.

3. woody

woody Admin Admin

The way I understand it is that you don't want a vacuum. So like Erick said, just screw the lid on.

4. jhe888

jhe888 Member

When you can, you aren't creating a very good vacuum anyway - more a reduced pressure. You heat the contents to sterilize them, and when you put the lid on the now sterile contents the air and water vapor in the air space in the jar are hot. As it the contents cool (and the air shrinks, and the water goes back to being liquid water), the exterior air pressure becomes higher than the interior, but there is no serious vaccuum in there.

Your toby goes in jars to keep it at a constant, stable humidity level - that's all.

5. t-bear

t-bear Well-Known Member

I just make sure the jars are clean and dry, then fill them and screw the lid on tight. There's some in my cellar that's close to 10 yrs old, and it's just fine. I would avoid heating the jars/tobacco as heat is NOT a friend of stored toby......

6. Deckard

Deckard Active Member

We had a pretty extensive debate on the subject a couple months ago, you can read what everyone said here.

7. Deckard

Deckard Active Member

I'm in the just screw on the lid camp.

8. Tas Gunsmith

Tas Gunsmith Member

Don't seal it too good. You may want to dip in to it!

9. yinyang

yinyang Some rim charring is to be expected.