Contentment or Curmudgeon

Discussion in 'Pipe Tobacco' started by RevSmoke, Mar 8, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. RevSmoke

RevSmoke Member

I have been smoking a pipe semi-regularly since 1980. I have tried my share of tobaccos. I have gone from the aromatic stage, the Latakia rich stage, to VaPers & VAs. I have never really been a big fan of Burley blends, nor of Oriental blends.

So, some 33 years later, I wonder. Have I become a curmudgeon or am I simply content? And, am I the only one?

I have a couple pipe and cigar smoking friends who have a few years on me, they smoke one blend in their pipe and only one cigar. I do not find the blend nor the cigar they like to be anything that I'd put in my bowl. They puff away and are completely happy, content with what they are smoking. Indeed, they have tried other things that I have pressed upon them and they turn up their nose in disgust. Many are the people that think both of these gentlemen are curmudgeons - they do not try much that is new, including their meals - they like what they like. Sometimes they can be a bit grumpy about it, and they are very opinionated on whatever issue. Are they curmudgeons? Or simply content?

While I have not whittled down the cigars that I enjoy to just one stick, and I still enjoy trying new cigars, life is too short and the times I get to spend enjoying a cigar too limited (right now, 1x a week). I have come to be rather selective - a cigar needs to WOW me if it is to earn a place in my humidor and a second smoke.

This is where this thread comes in. I do smoke my pipe more frequently. But, I find myself wondering, am I have become a curmudgeon? Or am I simply living in Contentment?