1. This forum section is for discussing pipes, it is not for advertising in any fashion.
  2. If you cannot verify your email address or recover your password, you need to call your ISP and tell them to stop blocking your email from this site.
    Dismiss Notice

Custom Pipe (quality or $10 bargin bin)

Discussion in 'Pipes' started by MorePower7701, Sep 7, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. MorePower7701

MorePower7701 Member

I am new to a pipe and still can not tell for sure what makes some pipes worth there price. My first pipe was an old estate Tracy Mincer Custombilt briar straight stem, stem is loose, heavy, but from my limited experence seems to smoke well. :confused: I was in a local quality pipe/cigar shop looking for a second pipe, while looking the salesperson showed me a pipe that he claims was built by a local pipe maker. I looked at over 10 pipes ranging from $80-$250, but the custom made, was light, bowl had a nice finish, not to glossy just nice, and fit my hand perfect, like it was taylor made for me. I could not pass it up and paid the $50 they asked, packed the bowl and enjoyed a few minutes in the smoking lounge. This thing smokes great, but with my limited knowledge I don't know if I got took. There are no markings, stamped on the pipe, it was nothing like there bargin pipes they offered, from what I can see, it looks hand built. How can I tell?:cfsd:

2. Dutchking22

Dutchking22 Member

Any pictures will help a lot, and congrats on the new pipe either way!

3. soundlzrd

soundlzrd Active Member

That custom bilt Pipe should be good, might just need some restoration work. I love my custom bilt.

Not sure about the new Taylor, but would like to see pictures of both.

4. MorePower7701

MorePower7701 Member

5. Dutchking22

Dutchking22 Member

Its not there....

6. HCraven

HCraven Active Member