1. This forum section is for discussing pipes, it is not for advertising in any fashion.

Doc G Freehand

Discussion in 'Pipes' started by Nuck81, Jul 27, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Nuck81

Nuck81 Member

So I've been smoking pretty much nothing but cobs for the last two years. I have a few briars, but I don't smoke them quite as much.

Got a hair up my ass about two weeks ago and bought two Grabows, an Omega, and Freehand.

The Omega is a god send. Flat out quickly become one of my best and favorite pipes.

The Freehand is also a great smoke except for one problem, it smokes insanely hot. Not the smoke, the smoke is nice and cool all through the bowl, but it's the outside. The second I light it up, it's pretty warm, and after just a few minutes it is too hot to hold by anything but the shank. I'm sure it is not me, as I have never had this problem before with any pipe I've had, and the Omega stays so cool, I dip it in my tea to keep the ice from melting. At first I thought it was that it was a new pipe and just needed a little break in, But it's been over a week now, and the pipe hasn't begun to cool down.

So my question is, is this common for the Grabow Freehand, or is there something I can do different?

2. Klauswermann

Klauswermann Member

I had Freehand some time ago, but I never found that it got any hotter than my other pipes, maybe the briar is somehow flawed? But even then I don't really know how that would make it smoke intensly hot... the only experience I have had with a pipe getting that hot was with a brylon yello-bole.

3. woody

woody Admin Admin

When I first got my Freehand it smoked wet. It damn near dripped where the stem and stummel meet. After it got smoked in, it's a nice smoking pipe.

4. Johnny Dingo

Johnny Dingo Writer of wrongs

I had one for a while. It did smoke pretty hot, but I fixed it by trading it in the Box Pass for a Rewster modded cob. I'm pleased with the results.

5. Vaquero

Vaquero Member