1. If you cannot verify your email address or recover your password, you need to call your ISP and tell them to stop blocking your email from this site.
    Dismiss Notice

First bowl of MacBaren Honey & Chocolate

Discussion in 'Pipe Tobacco' started by Alamo, Mar 20, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Alamo

Alamo Member

Smoked from my Italian basket briar, which I've found to have Milano stamped on the side!
    Regardless of which Milano it is (as a quick google search says that there is a company callem Molina Milano, as well as a few other companies that make a Milano model of pipe), it smoked well, and seems to stay lit longer than my cob. Still went though about half a box of matches, but I guess that means I'm still learning.

To get to the tobacco, I was very surprised to find out that I could not taste any of the chocolate in it, and only got the tiniest hints of sweetness. Also quite surprising that it seems the room note of the tobacco will smell more like ash when I smoked too hot, but smelled AMAZING when I smoked slow and cool. Is this normal for aros? Perhaps I'm also still smoking to fast/hot to get any real flavor, only time will tell.

Any thoughts on what I've experienced?

2. TRAVIS

TRAVIS Member

Slowl and steady wins the race.

jdto likes this.
  3. Alamo

Alamo Member

It seems that every time I try to go slow, the pipe goes out on me
    I need to figure out how to get a good light going

4. Arkie

Arkie Active Member

I've had only one tin of McB's Honey & Chocolate but the taste of chocolate in it was almost overwhelming. IMHO, McB blends their stuff with the most consistency of any blending house but I suspect it is difficult to regulate the amount of casing in aromatics because the flavoring is so concentrated.

5. Alamo

Alamo Member

Definitely thinking I'm burning way too hot if you say that the flavor was that strong

This also makes me was to try smoking it again right now...
    LOL

6. voodoo101