First time tobacco suggestions

Discussion in 'Need Pipe Smoking Advice? Ask an Old Fart!' started by smokinghost, Jan 16, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. smokinghost

smokinghost Member

Hey guys,

I am a total newb here. I got a corn cob pipe as I heard they're good starters til you have the hang of it so you don't ruin a nice one.

My first question is what is a good tobacco to start with? I like medium to full bodied cigars if that helps with suggestions.

Second is I know I need a tamper and would like some recommendations.

Lastly is it best to use a pipe lighter or matches?

Please don't feel you have to answer all of them from one person. As long as all get answered its all good.

Thanks everyone.

2. CalPiper

CalPiper Member

Finding tobaccos you like is ALOT of trial and error. That is why there is a Trading Post on this forum, its basically a place for people to swap tobaccos they didnt like with someone who likes it. Whether you like Aromatics like Lane's "1Q" or Cornell and Diehl "After Hours" , or if you like non-aromatics is all up to your pallet. I enjoy both aromatics and non-aromatics, so its good to get small samples of different tobaccos and fire them up and see which one suits you. With tampers, I just grab them from my local B&M (Brick and Mortar) shop when I lose one. They are basically about $2 each and work great. Of course there are more expensive ones, but if you are looking to save money the cheap ones work fine. Again with the pipe light or matches, which ever one you feel comfortable with, then thats the one to go with. Both work great and I have been known to switch from my lighter back to matches depending on how I feel that day. Again, pipe smoking takes alot of trial and error and takes patience. So enjoy the ride and get smokin! ;)

3. Arkie

Arkie Active Member