1. This forum section is for discussing pipes, it is not for advertising in any fashion.
  2. If you cannot verify your email address or recover your password, you need to call your ISP and tell them to stop blocking your email from this site.
    Dismiss Notice

found two pipes from 1912, any thoughts?

Discussion in 'Pipes' started by AlexeiKS, Jan 13, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. AlexeiKS

AlexeiKS New Member

Aloha from Hawaii, pipe smokers!

I'm relatively new to the pipe smoking world, but I've been delving as deeply as my meager wallet and scant free time will allow. Pipe smoking is unheard of in Hawaii-- there's only one tiny shop with a tiny tobacco pipe corner (hawaii smokers tend to favor the greener leaf, if you know what I mean...)

I got lucky recently and found an antique store with a box of old pipes for 8-12$ each. Two of the five I bought had what I assume to be dates of manufacture on them: "11-29-12" and "5-2-12" !!
    The bulldog (11-29-12) rim and stem are pretty beat up, but the mini pipe (5-2-12) is in great condition considering its age. Just a few dings on the stem.

Does anyone have an idea of what these may be worth? Any info will be greatly appreciated :)

THE PIPES:
    https://plus.google.com/photos/1025...s/5833151394717741937?authkey=CJDo-4aRzPyglQE

2. Imrandy

Imrandy Member

To me the dates look like they are newer to the pipe. Look at the stamp from manufacture and see how the stain is in the stamping on yours the date looks fresher and almost white
    http://pipephil.eu/logos/en/logo-c1.html
    More pics of the band area is it hallmarked at all and the other one need more pics

3. AlexeiKS

AlexeiKS New Member

Thanks Imrandy, I know what you mean. I'll get a bunch more photos uploaded to that linked gallery when I get a chance.

4. Snookman

Snookman Member

5. AlexeiKS

AlexeiKS New Member

That's a great link Snookman. Looks like the date does line up.