1. If you cannot verify your email address or recover your password, you need to call your ISP and tell them to stop blocking your email from this site.
    Dismiss Notice

Frog Morton on the Bayou

Discussion in 'Pipe Tobacco' started by CustomDave, Dec 10, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. CustomDave

CustomDave Member

I am still new to smoking so my opinion probably isn't worth much compared to the seasoned vets. I started like a lot of people on aromatics. After hearing a lot of good stuff about Orlik Golden Slice I bought a tin of that several weeks ago. Since I got that I can't seem to do aromatics anymore.

On to the subject. I bought a 50 gram tin of this stuff today. I recognized the Frog Morton name from here, so I figured I would give it a try. When I opened the tin the smell was good (to me at least). For some reason it (the smell) reminded me of my fathers chewing tobacco. Smoking it seems nice. Not really sure how to describe the taste, but it seemed sweet and almost like perfume. Again, I don't know why, it just reminded me of that. In some ways this almost seems like an aromatic. It smells really nice anyway.(maybe it is considered one?) Again, I don't know why it just reminded me of that. It did seem to smoke really cool, with no tongue bite despite me smoking faster than normal. But with all that said it made my pipe gurgle really bad. I didn't pack it any different than I would pack something of that texture. But after about a quarter bowl my pipe seemed soaked in the bottom. I guess that would be my only complaint. I am smoking out of a somewhat crappy basket pipe that tends to gurgle sometime but not usually that quickly.

Oh well, overall good stuff I think. I will give it a try smoking a bit slower later tonight when I have more time. Anyone else tried this blend? Did it gurgle in your pipe?

2. erickghint

erickghint Member