Frog Morton

Discussion in 'Pipe Tobacco' started by LostDog13, Jan 1, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. LostDog13

LostDog13 Yes, I'm a New World Samurai

Frog Morton Across the Pond was one of the first baccies I ordered, and the first that I really enjoyed. I have some of each of the line (except Cellar) jarred or in unopened tins. Figured it was a good place to start a cellar as I explored other blends. It has been a while since I have enjoyed any of the FM line, but today decided to pop the tin of FMC that has been sitting in my wall locker for a few weeks. As soon as I opened the tin I was reminded of why I like this line so much. I'm pretty sure it is the latakia (I'm a noob, so can't be sure) that rises to the top of the tin and smoke that really makes these blends sing. Add to that the whiskey which evolves into a light caramelvanilla, and you have an excellent smoke. Definitely on that TAD list!

I have to ask though, what type of blend would the FMs fall into? They are all similar at the base, but each have subtle differences.

2. Ozark Nick

Ozark Nick Member

I believe most folks group the Frogs under the "English" tobacco label.

Mington likes this.
  3. Jussto

Jussto Active Member

I consider them sort of English crossovers, I think they're not quite full Englishes, since most of them have some sort of top note. (especially FMC) They are some really tasty blends, some of the first Englishes I enjoyed, and still do. Cellar to me would be on the verge of an aromatic, but with latakia, and is currently the blend in my car.

4. Ozark Nick

Ozark Nick Member

I keep hearing about this Frog Morton Cellar, think I'm gonna have to order some someday.

Do the Frogs have that signature McClelland's smell in the tin?

5. Buckshot

Buckshot Member

In my opinion, no. They are a separate breed, so to speak. FMC in particular has a tin aroma that is to die for. Tastes good too. One of my all time favorites.