1. This forum section is for discussing pipes, it is not for advertising in any fashion.
  2. If you cannot verify your email address or recover your password, you need to call your ISP and tell them to stop blocking your email from this site.
    Dismiss Notice

Hello and Dr. Grabow question

Discussion in 'Pipes' started by wobarg, Sep 12, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. wobarg

wobarg New Member

Hello,

I've been smoking for a couple months now, but with little ones in the house I've agreed to only do so on weekends and outside. For that reason I'd limited myself to one old smooth finish Dr. Grabow Omega that I'm happy with. Well, at least until today, when I found a Grabow Freehand 06 (whatever that number means). I've seen lots of pipes at antique malls herebouts but had never seen one with a flared out, flat bottom that sets nicely on a table without a holder. The look was so neat, for $8 I had to grab it.

It appeared nicely broken and pretty clean so, after a basic cleanup, it smoked really well until the last 1/3 of the bowl. At that point the pleasant smoke suddenly turned hotter and ashy-tasting in my mouth (the Omega never did this, even using the same tobacco). I'm still trying to figure out why that happened. [Now that I think of it, this pipe stayed lit easier, longer and smoked drier than the Omega does, so maybe the tobacco just turned to ash on me for the first time?]

Anyway, the real reason I'm posting: I'm curious about when Dr. Grabow made this Freehand because I've found ZERO info on this particular shape anywhere, including using Bing and Google. I'll post a pic if it helps, but I imagine the gentleman here who worked for the company probably already knows of it, as others might.

Thanks much in advance for any insights! You look like you have a wonderful board here. Thanks for your time,

Don