Help with a new meer

Discussion in 'Need Pipe Smoking Advice? Ask an Old Fart!' started by Morse, Oct 29, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Morse

Morse Active Member

I recently picked up an unsmoked "estate" meerschaum from SP.com - one of the no-name ones they had a couple of weeks ago. The issue is that it seems to smoke hot - hotter than my briars do given the same tobacco.

Now the walls of the bowl seem quite thin about 1/8" at the top, and that may be part of the issue. But it got me to thinking, do meers burn hotter as a matter of course or is this a case of you get what you pay for (ie get an IMP next time). Now granted I am pretty new at this, but assuming that my technique is the same, my briars seem to burn cooler.

Any thoughts or advice?

2. Old Ted

Old Ted Active Member

I think you have nearly answered your own question - "the walls of the bowl seem quite thin", the pipe will smoke hot - in similar fashion to a clay!, and yes - like most things, you do get 'what you pay for', a quality meer, well engineered, and with plenty of 'meat' in the right places, will give (IMO) an unsurpassed smoking experience, both for coolness and flavor.
    OT

Mark w4mms and Tanman like this.
  3. Morse

Morse Active Member

Thanks - lesson learned :)

4. Morse

Morse Active Member

The only meerschaum brand I am aware of is IMP - are there others to recommend?

Mark w4mms likes this.
  5. cherrymaxap

cherrymaxap Member

SMS and Altinok are two others out there.

6. Morse

Morse Active Member

Thanks - just checked out their websites. Wow, very nice!

7. user1975

user1975 Active Member

Another brand to look out for if you're looking into estate meers is CAO. I have several of them, and all have been good quality smokers, and well made. You can occasionally find some CAO's for sale that are NOS as well.

8. t-bear

t-bear Well-Known Member