1. This forum section is for discussing pipes, it is not for advertising in any fashion.
  2. If you cannot verify your email address or recover your password, you need to call your ISP and tell them to stop blocking your email from this site.
    Dismiss Notice

Hi guys

Discussion in 'Pipes' started by Fredrik, Aug 3, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Fredrik

Fredrik Member

Been lurking a bit and just thought I'd start off by saying "Hi" before I get inclined to reply to a thread.
    I'm a 29y.o. novice pipe smoker from Stockholm, Sweden. I can't say what turned me towards pipe smoking other than curiosity since none of my relatives smoke anything but cigarettes (yuck!) and there's not much of a pipe smoking culture here. I have a humidor though and I've been storing some cigars since 2003 so I guess this is the next step :)

I started off with a Chacom arcade apple with a pouch of WÖ Larsen golden dream and the stores own burley mix.
    Began with the three stage filling with increasing firmness but soon found out about the Frank method which I think is excellent for the ready rubbed tobaccos I've tried. For the flakes (only two so far) I use "air pocket" filling which has allowed me to get some really nice smokes where I haven't had to relight and been able to smoke the entire bowl to ashes, which also seem to leave less moisture when done...but that might also be the baccy.

While browsing ebay (dangerous!) I came across two Dunhills that just begged of me to buy them...so I did ^^ One 1976 bruyere bent dublin with oval shank and mouthpiece and a 1996(?) shellbriar cherrywood with saddle mouthpiece...and now I've gone and ordered a dozen MM cobs and a Randy Wiley... I also bought a couple of no name el cheapo briars to use as "loaners" as it seems there's always someone who wants a taste heh.