1. If you cannot verify your email address or recover your password, you need to call your ISP and tell them to stop blocking your email from this site.
    Dismiss Notice

How to grip a pipe correctly in the mouth?

Discussion in 'Need Pipe Smoking Advice? Ask an Old Fart!' started by shandy, Jan 21, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. shandy

shandy Member

I know this seems a silly question but I am a newbie and I am just not sure the best way.

I don't want to put to much bite on the pipe stem as it is not comfortable I find. I seem to have developed a method which seems to work which is that I balance the pipe between my teeth with the stem taking some of the weight by resting on my jaw. I have only just discovered this was, before I was clenching which made my jaw ache.

I only have bent stems which of course is the only way to do it the way I am now.
    Any advice on other ways of doing this would be great. I don't particularly want ruddy great bite marks on my stems!
    Thanks so much in advance.
    Ian

2. HCraven

HCraven Active Member

Well, Ian, there are probably as many ways to clench a pipe as there are sets of teeth. Most people find a comfortable spot somewhere in the corner of their mouth, between the first set of molars. I've seen people clench them right in front, between the incisors, but that seems terribly uncomfortable and dosn't look quite right, IMO. Bent pipes are supposed to be easier to clench, partly for the reason you mention, that of being able to rest some of the weight on your jaw, and partly because the bend keeps the center of gravity close to your mouth. That said, my pipes are almost all either straight or maybe half bent, and I clench them without problems, but maybe it has something to do with the fact that I've been gifted with an incredibly square bite.