I actually was able to tell the DIFFERENCE!

Discussion in 'The Smoking Lounge' started by Great Basin Ben, May 11, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Great Basin Ben

Great Basin Ben Member

Hi everyone. As you already can guess, I'm a TOTAL noob, both to here, and to pipe smoking in general. So with that said, I am excited, to share my most recent experience.

On Friday night, I purchased a "basket pipe", some tools, and a few ounces of what seemed I might like to start out with. I had marginal success, with some plesant smokes, but some tongue bite as well, and the Briar pipe marked "H.I.S. made in Italy" seemed to heat up fairly quickly, even when I do pace myself, and sip, the smoke slowly.

So last night, I stopped by my local Tinder Box, and picked up a Missouri Meerschaum Cob pipe, and MAN was there ever a difference between the two pipes! I bought an ounce of Crown Royale too, to try out in the new pipe, and man was I pleased! From the beginning to the end, through the MM Cob pipe, the new Crown Royale tasted AMAZING! From my first sip, right down to the bottom of the bowl, this pipe smoked like a dream! (well at least compared to my $25 basket pipe). So I then cleaned out my (H.I.S) briar pipe, and loaded a full bowl of the CR in it.

The briar pipe seemed to subdue the flavors of the CR though. Compared to the MM Cob, there was almost NO flavor, and it seemed to burn much much hotter, resulting in some minor tongue bite, compared to the absolute DREAM of a smoke that the Cob offered.