I'm a rookie.

Discussion in 'The Smoking Lounge' started by Mountain, Jan 19, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Mountain

Mountain Member

So this is my first post here and i am very new to pipe smoking. Been doing it for less than a week actually.i bought a dr. grabow lark pipe that came with some kind of generic tobacco that doesnt taste too nice.i was hoping for some suggestions on what kind of tobaccos would be good for a rookie and reputable websites to get them from (i dont live near a tobacconist). so far ive only used pipesandcigars.com. any help is welcome, for like i said im very new. thanks all!

2. Sasquatch

Sasquatch Sales Account

I always recommend that new pipers try a few benchmark sort of blends, things the smoke well and taste good and aren't hugely spicey or strong etc.
    (Navy Flake from Mac Baren - this is so utterly "pipey" it's just ... classic. (Substitute if needed: Orlik Golden Sliced)

Frog Morton from McClelland - an introduction to the silky/campfire taste of latakia. (Substitute if needed: Benjamin Hartwell Chesdin)

A friendly Virginia/Perique mixture is probably in order too - maybe some Scottish Cake by Robert McConnell. (Substitute: Escudo by AC Peterson or Tudor Castle by McClelland)

Try some or all, and report back. :thumbsu:

3. ruffinogold

ruffinogold Ruffinogold-Mayor, I.R.G.E.--At Large. Mayor

Wellcome mountain ! I'd ask what you smoked that you didnt like so I could give advice .[ from here on I'll just ramble