I'm confused

Discussion in 'Pipe Tobacco' started by OrganizdMadman, Nov 20, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. OrganizdMadman

OrganizdMadman Member

When I was younger I remember the old timers smoking pipes filled with a tobacco that had a rich sweet, almost incense quality. A smoke cloud that made my nose do a pleasent double take.
    This being said, I recently tried MacBaren's Vanilla flake. First I rubbed it out and filled my pipe...badly. Since I'm a noob at this realized a lot of practice was ahead of me to perfect the art, I opted to try the fold method for a quick test smoke. It was hard to light (too wet perhaps?) but once set for a bit it lit up beautifully.
    Here's where my disappointment started. To me it tasted like a slightly above average cigarette, the smoke smelled no different, a slight vanilla note maybe, no tongue bite thankfully, but not the rich sweet smelling smoke I remember as a child. What could I have been smelling?

2. user0003

user0003 Well-Known Member

CBW

MakDragon and HCraven like this.
  3. HCraven

HCraven Active Member

I don't find Mac Baren's Vanilla Flake to be overly aromatic. Yes, the vanilla is there in sufficient quantity to be a consistent presence throughout the bowl, and I find that it tastes more "natural" than many vanilla blends on the market (doesn't get sour or bitter toward the bottom), but the beauty of this blend for me is that the natural taste of the tobacco still shines through. I think the reason for that is that a high-quality Virginia leaf constitutes a good portion of the blend as opposed to a large proportion of Cavendish backed up with some nondescript Burley that just helps with the burn. Many of the blends we may remember from childhood fall into the latter category, but (IMO) are far more pleasing to the bystander than the smoker.