Is it me or the pipe?

Discussion in 'Need Pipe Smoking Advice? Ask an Old Fart!' started by TampaPete, Apr 30, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. TampaPete

TampaPete Member

Hello,

I'm new to pipes, about 2 weeks in. I have a $5 corncob and a $25 bent Kaywoodie Saxon. I've gotten to the point where I can effectively load and smoke a full bowl consistently in the cob, but I can't for the life of me get a consistent experience with the Saxon. The cob smokes cool, no ashy or burnt taste. The Saxon gives me an overly smoky/ashy taste and seems to burn really hot most of the time. I also get alot of gurgling and wet conditions. I cleaned it out with some Canadian Club, hoping to "reset" it, to no avail. I've been smoking some bulk blend samples from my local shop, Tobacco Depot, mostly aromatic/semi-aromatic ("Simplicity", "Blue Note", and "Night Cap").

Any thoughts for a frustrated noob?

Thanks!
    -pete-

2. Sasquatch

Sasquatch Sales Account

Does the kaywoodie have a metal stinger fitted in the stem?

The cob will allow you to move a lot more air through the pipe than the kaywoodie, is my thoughts. In this case, I'm gonna blame the pipe, because KWs smoke nasty for me too. I just couldn't get them to behave.

If it does NOT have the metal stinger, what is the draw like when you take the stem out? Suck some air through the stem, and through the stummel, and then put the stem back in and see if it feels different. One possibility is that the stem's tenon is getting in the way of the airhole in the shank....

3. TampaPete

TampaPete Member

Nope, no stinger. It does seem a little light on the draw though, more like a coffee stirrer than a straw.
    Should I just stick with the cob until I save up enough change for a good bulldog/rhodesian?

4. TampaPete

TampaPete Member