MacB Latakia Blend - v- MacB Solent Mixture

Discussion in 'Pipe Tobacco' started by RTOdhner, Jul 3, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. RTOdhner

RTOdhner Well-Known Member

I've been checking out these two blends, and it seems like the only difference is that Latakia Blend is a roll cake type toby while Solent Mixture is ribbon cut. Has anybody tried these blends, and if so are they all that different?

2. Albert

Albert Active Member

I have a tin of the solent mixture and I really like it a lot! Very well balanced, nice "plumcake"-ish flavor, latakia in the background but very well played. I have no experience with Latakia blend.

3. RTOdhner

I'm kind of in the same boat you are: no Latakia Blend experience, and a tin of Solent Mixture on order. I've heard good things about both, and looking at the ingredients they appear to be similar. Guess I'll have to bite the bullet and try both. This toby research bidniss is exhausting! :bing:

4. Albert

Albert Active Member

Pleasantly exhausting. :toast:

5. jeffbee

jeffbee Member

Once I got over the fact that Latakia Blend has very little Latakia in it, I actually liked it a lot.
    Haven't tried the Solent Mixture, but it makes me think of Soilent Green. I wonder what's in it?

6. Albert

Albert Active Member

It people. thats what makes it taste GRRREAT!

7. RTOdhner

Baccy is dieing. Solent Mixture is people!

8. ruffinogold

ruffinogold Ruffinogold-Mayor, I.R.G.E.--At Large. Mayor