Mason jar tobacco storage...

Discussion in 'Pipe Tobacco' started by user2725, Apr 25, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. user2725

user2725 Active Member

We all know mason jars are best for long term storage of pipe tobacco but are there any special tricks you have in doing so, for instance is there any benefit to a loosely pack jar to a densely packed jar? I have also noticed that the seals are not always 100% so I bought some canning wax to dip the top of the jars in to ensure a prefect seal. I'm kinda new at this so I figured some of you guys that have been at it a while might know something I don't.

2. FlatbushPaul

FlatbushPaul Cellar is located in an undisclosed bunker

Hi Briar Boy,
    I buy the pint size Ball jars. I try to keep a jar 3/4 full if aging it for the future. A little air will help it move along. I really do not think the wax is necessary though. The little rubber/foam seal n the bottom of the lid is more than enough to keep the tobacco from the ambient air. I think it is more important to make sure the jar is clean when you put the tobacco in it than anything else. Keep out any unwanted spores and such. There is no need to overtighten the lid either, just finger tight. They should stay for many, many years just like that.

Paul

Preacher1611 and user2725 like this.
  3. Spillproof

Spillproof Mostly Harmless Moderator

+1.

I use a variety of different sized ball jars, and like Paul, never completely fill them. As long as you don't bend the rim of the lid (by dropping them), the seals are good for a long, long time.

user2725 likes this.
  4. user2725

user2725 Active Member

Looks like I gotta get some more jars, filled the ones I have WAY too densely :doh:

5. Preacher1611

Preacher1611 Active Member

I just started jarring, (one blend so far), same as above, loose fill, about 3/4 full, clean jars and tops, finger tight. Keeps my bacca fresher than my humidor. :th1:

6. Stonewall

Stonewall Active Member