McBaren Vanilla Cream Review

Discussion in 'Pipe Tobacco' started by xnowimcoolx, Feb 7, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. xnowimcoolx

xnowimcoolx Member

My first review, I'm a newbie to pipe so please forgive the limited perspective. This was smoked in a Brigham Mountaineer - my only pipe.

Vanilla Cream is a ribbon cut Virginia and Black Cavendish tobacco cased with vanilla flavor. When I opened the tin it may have been bordering on too moist and the smell was very strong. I've read elsewhere that it smells like "vanilla compost", I wouldn't go that far but there is a sort of thick fruity smell when the tobacco is in the tin.

I used what I call the "Lazy Frank" to fill my bowl (gravity fill, push in an addition good-sized pinch by rolling thumbs over the bowl - not being concerned with Franks technique or "side pressure" - thus "Lazy" - works very well for me)

The flavors that come off the char light are very very good. The vanilla really does take a leading role in the char light and is accented very well by the tobacco.

When the real light comes it gets a bit tricky, this blend is a fire-cracker! It burns hot very fast and stays hot for a long time, and when it gets hot, it gets peppery and bites!! The best real light for this blend is closer to what I would do for a re-light: a couple quick, short draws.