1. This forum section is for discussing pipes, it is not for advertising in any fashion.

Meerschaum lined Briar questions

Discussion in 'Pipes' started by Great Basin Ben, May 11, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Great Basin Ben

Great Basin Ben Member

Hi there everyone. This may be more pertaining to the "Ask the Old farts" section, but seeing as how it's regarding pipes, I put it here. If it needs to be moved, I completely understand.

So here's my question: Why wouldn't a Meerschaum lined Briar pipe, be EVERYONE'S #1 pipe of choice, given it's varying ability to perform, almost both like a Briar, and yet also like a Meerschaum???

I definitely will be picking one up, hopefully in the next couple of weeks, to try it out, and see/compare the differences, and similarities. To the complete Novice, (which I am admittedly), it seems like a no brainer. It appears on the surface, to be the best of both worlds, yet folks RARELY seems to be giving them much credit if any. I'm willing to admit, I didn't do a HUGE search of this kind of pipe, before asking this question, but in my week here so far, I have yet to really hear anyone mention them in their daily repertoire, of pipes... Why exactly is this???

2. badbusinessman

badbusinessman ☺️

Because I don't like smoking epoxy.

3. jhe888

jhe888 Member

I think they perform more like meers, but look like briars.

Often the meer is pressed meerschaum, which is meer dust and a binder of some glue. It isn't solid meer, so it may not even perform like meerschaum.

4. ruffinogold

ruffinogold Ruffinogold-Mayor, I.R.G.E.--At Large. Mayor