1. This forum section is for discussing pipes, it is not for advertising in any fashion.

Missouri Meerschaum sizes

Discussion in 'Pipes' started by jhe888, Nov 9, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. jhe888

jhe888 Member

I got a Diplomat, which smokes great, but is a little small. It is hard to tell what is what size on the website. What is bigger than a Diplomat and smaller than the General?

Thanks.

2. yinyang

yinyang Some rim charring is to be expected.

I think the Freehand falls in between, but I wouldn't bet my life on it.

3. Rugbysh9

Rugbysh9 Active Member

4. Stoked

Stoked Member

I feel ya. On the MM website they say the Diplomat is larger, but I just ordered two, along with the Washington, they arrived Friday, and to my surprise and dismay, while the Diplomat is larger (bigger cob) the actual bowl size and diameter appear to be exactly the same as the Washington. One would expect the description they have on the MM site to mean that it holds more tobacco-- I've found that it doesn't.

Well, it is what it is. The only strategy I can recommend if you're hell bent on MM (like I am) is to buy more of them, and if need be, smoke two bowls out of two different pipes in a row if you really get a hankering.

As you can see from Rugs' excellent link, the differences between what MM calls "larger" and regular is minute.

5. akohtz

akohtz Member

That helped me get a better idea of sizes too. Thanks.

- Andrew

6. akohtz

akohtz Member

Why not just smoke 'em back to back in the same pipe? The other night I was reading while smoking my Legend. The book was good, the weather out back was perfect, the tobacco jar was sitting right there, and I just packed a second bowl and kept reading. Didn't seem to be an issue for the pipe.

- Andrew

7. cmw00

cmw00 Member

I was really thinking the Country Gentleman was bigger bowled than the Diplomat. The CG has a pretty good sized bowl I though.

8. tsgourley

tsgourley Member