1. If you cannot verify your email address or recover your password, you need to call your ISP and tell them to stop blocking your email from this site.
    Dismiss Notice

Moving Up to Tinned Tobaccos (Your Opinions Please)

Discussion in 'Pipe Tobacco' started by SittinNMyChairSmokin, Aug 14, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. SittinNMyChairSmokin

SittinNMyChairSmokin Member

Aug 14, 2010
    Hello all.

This is my first thread so if i managed to miss this with the search function i am sorry. Here it goes:

I have recently become fascinated with smoking my pipe. I am on my way to becoming a tobacco connoisseur. I have been smoking for about 6 months now and have only smoked the jarred blends at my local tobacconists. I have smoked blends like:

"Cherry Cavendish"
    "Virginia Smooth"
    "Victorian Standard"
    "Whiskey Cavendish"
    "London Burley"

My question for you is whether i am "ready" to take the step up to tinned tobaccos? I am a firm believer of only indulging in what you can appreciate (ie: a college graduate would not fully appreciate the tones of a well aged whiskey).

Do you believe that there is a strong difference between tinned tobaccos and local blends?

*The general consensus is that tinned tobacco is just of "higher quality."
    Is this truly the case or can i find a truly amazing blend in a bulk jar as well?

As a relatively new smoker will the tinned tobaccos be worth the additional price tag?

Thank you for answering some or all of my questions!
  2. Sasquatch

Sasquatch Sales Account

Jul 15, 2009
    Hi Brian, welcome to the board.

I'm going to suggest that the answer to all your questions is probably "That depends" or "Can be..."

Tobacconists buy bulk tobacco, from one or more sources, but these sources are limited. Lane, McClelland, Gawith and Hoggarth, and a few others. So it is entirely possible that some jars are full of cheap crap, and other jars in the same shop could be filled with terrific tobacco.