1. This forum section is for discussing pipes, it is not for advertising in any fashion.
  2. If you cannot verify your email address or recover your password, you need to call your ISP and tell them to stop blocking your email from this site.
    Dismiss Notice

My first briar pipe - WOW

Discussion in 'Pipes' started by perch, Dec 21, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. perch

perch Member

Dec 21, 2010
    So I've been smoking a pair of Missouri Meerschaum corncobs for a few months now and have tried a few different tobaccos through them. After a week or so I figured out how to pack the bowl and smoke properly, and was enjoying it alright. But something was always a bit off, especially more than halfway through the bowl. I always got a sort of rancid, sour, corny taste. I wasn't sure if it was the pipe, the tobacco, or if smoking a pipe just tasted like that. I was almost thinking maybe pipe smoking wasn't for me. I still wondered what a proper briar pipe would be like, but couldn't really imagine how it would be that much better. I kept reading about how corncobs were so dry and pure, how they let the tobacco flavours through.

I walked into a little tobacco store in a town I never visit today and wasn't impressed with their selection. But a Vauen (a name I'd never heard of until today) kind of spoke to me. It was $56 and I figured it was kind of a second rate pipe maybe marked up a bit in this little hole in the wall I was in. I ended up getting it because I had been wanting a briar pipe now for nearly as long as I have been smoking a pipe.

I also got a new tobacco.

I filled this pipe up halfway (before reading on Vauen's site that no break-in was necessary) and started to smoke.

A completely different experience. The smoke was so rich, thick, flavourful, delicious. I actually started giggling.

Yes, out loud. A grown man giggling for seemingly no reason while smoking his pipe.