New guy here. hello everyone!

Discussion in 'Need Pipe Smoking Advice? Ask an Old Fart!' started by Black Adam, Nov 6, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Black Adam

Black Adam Member

Hello folks. I am completely new to pipe smoking and am very excited to be involved in such an interesting pastime. I recently ordered a Savinelli Churchwarden Smooth pipe # 601.
    [​IMG]

I have always been fascinated by pipe smoking so I decided to take the plunge big time. I do have a question about tobacco though. It seems like I have a lot to learn about all of this. What tobacco blend is good for a complete newbie? I ordered 2 oz of Adirondack Gold Pipe Tobacco because the website said it was their most popular blend, plus it has a vanilla aroma, which does interest me. I have smelled pipe smoke before and I do really enjoy the aromatic smell of vanilla. Did I make a good choice or is there something even better out there for a new guy to try. I live in Iowa City and we do have a few nice tobacco shops around so I do have options other that the internet.

Thanks for the help :)

2. user1975

user1975 Active Member

Welcome aboard! It looks like you got a good pipe for sure. I can't say much about that blend as I've never tried it. Most new pipe smokers start with an aromatic, but it's not a rule. What I would recommend you do is go back to your shop, and see if they have a sampler pack of several blends you could try. You didn't mention if you've actually smoked a bowl yet, so let me recommend this advice, load it no more than half way the first few bowls without packing it too hard, tamp lightly when needed, and puff slowly (called sipping) minimize the risk of overheating, and tongue bite. Also, it would be a wise idea to let some of your tobacco air dry for at least 30 minutes before smoking it to also minimize the chance of bite. Happy puffing!

Capt likes this.
  3. CustomDave

CustomDave Member