New to Pipe Tobacco

Discussion in 'Pipe Tobacco' started by Bahkenist, Jan 8, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Bahkenist

Bahkenist New Member

I recently bought an assortment of tobaccos to try since I am new to pipes. So far I am less than impressed with the ones I have tried. I have been smoking cigars for many years now and I normally prefer strong to very strong smokes (cubans in particular) . I would like your opinion, seasoned smokers, on the following brands I have in my assortment. I am also full aware you get what you pay for. Any recommendations? Thank you all

Sail - aromatic & natural
    Skandinavik - Full aroma & regular
    Troost - aromatic
    John Bull
    Cest La Vie - aromatic
    Erin Go Bragh -Irish Whiskey

2. Arkie

Arkie Active Member

I've smoked the first 3 on your list. Sail makes a good all-day smoke for me. Skandinavik & Troost were ok but I'll likely not get any more of them. Suggesting tobacco mixtures is very tough without knowing what sort of taste you like. If you like cigars you might like Hearth & Home's Virginia Spice because it does have some cigar leaf in it.

Bahkenist likes this.
  3. buistd

buistd Sales Account

Bear in mind that it takes a few months to get the knack of pipe smoking. Until then, you will probably find that you are puffing too hard to keep the pipe lit. This destroys the flavour of the tobacco. I haven't tried any of the tobaccos you have listed so can't offer any advice specific to them but if you are looking for more obvious flavour, try something with Latakia in it. A decent starting point with that is Dunhill Nightcap since you like the stronger tobaccos.

If you want high nicotine, which can be a problem for newer pipe smokers since the heavy puffing means that the nicotine can get overwhelming fairly quickly, a lot of the Cornell & Diehl Burley blends have a fair hit of nicotine. I like Night Train, although the 'crumble cake' cut can be a bit fiddly to get the hang of.