New to pipes and moving from OTC to wanting to order something good

Discussion in 'Pipe Tobacco' started by Grim Peeper, Jun 24, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Grim Peeper

Grim Peeper Member

Ok I'm new in this hobby and to this forum but I have some nice pipes and my smokingmethod is starting to prevail. So far I've tried captain blacks all of them,PA,CH,SWR, and some crappy value buys. Out of everything ive tried I much have preferred carter hall to anything else. So my question is now I want a suggestions for a bulk buy for a tobacco that taste like CH but I bit bolder and richer with more body and wonderful nicotine. I also like SWR but want I really want is a tastier carter hall like pipe tobacco. Any suggestion?

dBear likes this.
  2. Ozark Nick

Ozark Nick Member

Every time I try to find something "like" Carter Hall I always end up just smoking Carter Hall! :puffy:

dBear, rondel65, ruffinogold and 4 others like this.
  3. Eric Pierson

Eric Pierson Resident Giant

Tough call if you are looking to replicate CH. I find that LJ Heart Burley from H & H tastes a lot like CH, without the chemical taste associated with CH, but I still prefer CH to it myself. If I were to give you a recommendation, I would say to try some Irish Flake from Peterson and/ or some Jack knife Plug from GL Pease. If choosing the latter I would get the Ready Rubbed version unless you want to do a lot of work. Both of these blends are pretty natural tobacco blends that primarily consist of Burley with some Va added. The addition of dark fired Kentucky takes the nicotine a lot higher than CH.

Then if you really want a treat, get some John Patton's Storm Front from 4 Noggins. It is not like CH, or really anything else. It is just great. I recommend it to anyone who likes Burley blends.

dBear and psquared like this.
  4. Marker

Marker Active Member