Newbie observations...

Discussion in 'Pipe Tobacco' started by AkBuba, Aug 19, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. AkBuba

AkBuba Member

I'm VERY new to this, so PLEASE correct me if I'm wrong in any of this...
    I've smoked a few tobaccos now in a few different pipes. I haven't, as of yet, segregated any pipe for a specific baccy yet, though.

So, the pipes:
    [​IMG]
    The '06 St Patty
    A $7 corn cob and
    A briar I picked up locally marked "Cortina" and "Imported Briar"

The tobaccos (in the order I got them):
    - Captain Black
    - A Cherry/Vanilla blend given to my by a pipe smoker at the trap range
    - A blend from a tobaconnist in Scottsdale, Az called San Carlos – (Description: Rich currant flavors and a hint of green apple combine for a rich, smooth blend. This mild aromatic is a combination of Golden Virginia Tobaccos blended with mild Danish Black Cavendish.)
    - A Cherry/Vanilla I mixed my self from 2-2 oz bags of Cherry and Vanilla.
    - Borkum Riff Black Cavendish
    - NightCap.

What i have noticed about the Captain and Borkum is that they are sealed pretty tight when I get them and VERY moist inside. it reminds me of when I chewed Levi Garret - that kind of consistancy. I had a VERY hard time keeping them lit in the "Cortina" - the others I tried in that pipe were still trouble to keep lit, but not NEARLY as ard as the two pouches. The other tobaccos also seem a lot "less moist." Not dry, but much "drier."

All of the tobacco that I tried in the cob seemed to light better and stay lit longer. Before I got the St Patty's, I tried to compare the two pipes (cobb and Cortina) - the cobb seems to have a larger diameter hole in the stem, to allow more air flow.