1. If you cannot verify your email address or recover your password, you need to call your ISP and tell them to stop blocking your email from this site.
    Dismiss Notice

No Longer A Newbie ?

Discussion in 'The Smoking Lounge' started by Polymoog, Nov 10, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Polymoog

Polymoog Member

Sep 6, 2012
    Well Guys (and Gals)
    I have been smoking my pipes for around 3 months or so now and id like to offer my review , thoughts and experience for any one else thinking of venturing down this path.
    My wife says i can have a many hobbies as i like so long as i pay for them my self, but pipe smoking is free......
    Let me explain
    In 3 short months i started with my grandfathers collection which is more than most start with i know but i knew nothing about pipes and little did i know i was opening pandoras box!

I then bought a couple of local blends (you might have heard of them Condor and ST Bruno!)
    and a couple of tentative estate purchases on Ebay for a few pounds!

Then like most of my hobbies i look for a way to make money out of them so it becomes self financing,

As some of you already know i bought a huge job lot of pipes (approx 300) and believe me you learn an awful lot about pipes when you have 300 to play with.

Many many hours of crawling over this forum and ebay has taught me about makers and brands other websites and even other pipe forums.

After a couple of practice restores (thanks Buist) i can clean and restore pipes and offer them up for sale and have made a healthy profit which pays for all my baccy requirements.
    I have bought tools specifically to help me restore pipes which makes the end product better and sell for a higher price.
    Also thanks to the above member who sent me a large sample pack of baccy's both english and American Blends that i would never have tried otherwise.