On Packing A Pipe

Discussion in 'The Smoking Lounge' started by Otoolefan, Sep 25, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Otoolefan

Otoolefan Member

Since I've only been a regular pipe smoker for about 3 months, I'm still learning my craft...

I must have watched or read about almost every way of packing a pipe now. It seems to me that there are numerous ways to pack a pipe that will result in a good or decent smoke. Last night I seem to have hit upon an important rule of thumb for me and want to see if it resonates with anyone else on here.

Last night, as I filled my MM Legend with Carter Hall, I decided to pack it looser than I usually do. I kind of stuck to the "thirds" method of packing a pipe and used less tobacco than I have been using to fill the same pipe.

The resulting smoke was the best smoke of CH in a cob I've had in a while--it was also cooler, the draw was easier & the smoke itself seemed to be much richer & creamier, which made the tobacco taste better.

It seems to me that one should be much more mindful about packing the pipe too tight instead of worrying about packing it too loose. If you pack your pipe too loosely, you can always pack it tighter after it's lit with your tamper, whereas it's much harder to loosen up a pipe that's packed too tight.

Anyway, that's my thought for the day. I'm going to continue to pack my pipe a bit looser than I think I should and see if I keep getting the great result I got last night.

Just wondering what your experiences have been with this when you first started smoking a pipe...

Don

2. cakeanddottle

cakeanddottle Member

Burleys don't need much packing at all. Lat blends a bit more, and I like a little firmer pack for Va's.

3. Coastal Bend

Coastal Bend Get off my lawn...