1. This forum section is for discussing pipes, it is not for advertising in any fashion.

Opinions on an 'Excel 309'

Discussion in 'Pipes' started by Driftwoodsound, May 14, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Driftwoodsound

Driftwoodsound Member

Hello Gents,

I've been smoking a corn cob for a couple of months and feel I've got the hang of packing, lighting, and smoking.
    I decided to buy my first wooden pipe today. I got myself an Excel 309.
    [​IMG]

Anyone have any experience with this brand of pipe? There doesn't seem to be a lot of info around the net on this one.

Driftwood

2. user0003

user0003 Well-Known Member

More than likely a basket pipe. Or in other words..... literally, pipes sold from baskets, box, bowl etc. at B&Ms.

3. HCraven

HCraven Active Member

No info on that brand here. Where did you buy it, and how much did you pay?

4. Marc

Marc Active Member

I would agree with Jesla, it is most likely a basket pipe and a nice looking one at that...

5. AndyLowry

AndyLowry Member

Probably somebody's line of seconds. Doesn't mean there's anything wrong with it. It's a handsome shape!

6. Driftwoodsound

Driftwoodsound Member

I picked it up at a tobacconist in Melbourne, Australia (at a place on Flinders St for the locals) for $35.
    When I brought it the bowl had a greyish lining. Is this a sign of the bowl being 'pre-lined or carbonated (not sure of the proper term)?
    I'm having my second bowl from it now, smoking The Malthouse Founders Reserve. So far so good but I'm taking it slow to break it in.
    My only gripe so far is that the pipe doesn't stand up on its own. the base is rounded so the pipe will always roll to one side.

7. Marc

Marc Active Member