1. If you cannot verify your email address or recover your password, you need to call your ISP and tell them to stop blocking your email from this site.
    Dismiss Notice

Peter Stokkebye Luxury Flake Blends

Discussion in 'Pipe Tobacco' started by Raffxr7, Jan 10, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Raffxr7

Raffxr7 Active Member

Summed up:
    I am totally new to these three and am not sure what makes each sing. Any suggestions?

The original question:
    I recently ordered the three luxury flake blends, and I'm curious as to what type of pipe best suits each flake. I gave a LNF and LBF a try last night, but was puffing too vigorously with the excitement of a basketball game to pick up much flavor. I fault myself, not the tobacco. General pipe size and bowl shape, material (cob meer clay briar,) and general length (in case it needs more stem on a bite-prone blend), and anything else that may be of use would be excellent!

A little off topic:
    This kick started when I tried MacBaren's Navy Flake, which is a burley forward blend with a touch of cavendish. Two of my favorite tobacco types rolled into a kick butt blend, it broke in my country gentleman and I hardly touched anything else (even my precious latakia blends) until I exhausted it this week. I'd love to give the CG a continued workout with one of these three blends, but also am hoping to use a briar again... I'm going cob crazy, if the cycle doesn't break I'll be ordering another CG (or two) to dry this one out!

2. Coda

Coda Well-Known Member

I find that the Luxury series works fine in any pipe, honestly. Just rub it out, and smoke as usual...

3. ShilohHollow

ShilohHollow Active Member

I really only have experience with Luxury Twist Flake. The combination that has worked best for me so far is rubbing it out and then rolling it into a ball and smoking it in a group 3 (briar) pot.

ruffinogold and Raffxr7 like this.
  4. Slow Tri

Slow Tri Is it Friday yet?