1. This forum section is for discussing pipes, it is not for advertising in any fashion.
  2. If you cannot verify your email address or recover your password, you need to call your ISP and tell them to stop blocking your email from this site.
    Dismiss Notice

peterson p-lip...not happy...help

Discussion in 'Pipes' started by bill hook, Dec 5, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. bill hook

bill hook New Member

hi new here and hoping for some help. ive been smoking pipes for 30 years. corn cob, brier, mersh., soapstone, clay, ect. not new to pipes. so i broke down a got a peterson and i am decidedly unimpressed. the hole is in the top of the stem, not the end and my lips keep shutting off the smoke. when i wrestle with it a get the smoke its like a jet at the roof of my mouth. ive got an old webco and several dr grabows that are better than this. my molina is ten times the pipe this is. where my expectations too high and is there a trick to smoking this thing?

2. Johnny

Johnny Member

Put the mouthpiece behind your lips and your lips won't block the smoke. The p-lip takes a bit of getting used to and aren't for everyone. I love them though

irish2fish and Monkeyshine like this.
  3. Raffxr7

Raffxr7 Active Member

Peterson offers fishtail and P lip stems on most of their pipes, and a p lip can be chopped and converted to a fishtail. Dr G and a Czech maker (basket pipe in my case) have a more traditional airway location, which makes them more desirable. Don't let a bad stem sour you from petersons entirely though.

4. Fbones24

Fbones24 Member

I really enjoy the Plip on one of my Petes and not so much on the other. I really think that the "smokeability" will vary from pipe to pipe depending on the shape and your smoking style. I'm not a clencher, so my full bend Pete 312 is just not that comfortable with the plip. My 80S is perfect.

I would say to not give up on it and it very well might grow on you.

5. Summit

Summit Live Simply.