1. This forum section is for discussing pipes, it is not for advertising in any fashion.
  2. If you cannot verify your email address or recover your password, you need to call your ISP and tell them to stop blocking your email from this site.
    Dismiss Notice

pipe ID - is this a Savinelli?

Discussion in 'Pipes' started by muskie12, Jun 18, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. muskie12

muskie12 Member

Hi all - I'm a pipe newbie and just bought my third estate pipe off eBay. The seller listed it as "Vintage Savinelli Golf Briar Estate Tobacco Pipe". It has a Savinelli shooting star logo (?) but otherwise only has GOLF and Real Briar stamped on it. It also has a metal rod in the stem that screws into the shaft, which I've never seen before. It was cheap and the seller shipped exactly what was pictured so I don't think I got taken, but my question is whether or not it's really a Savinelli?

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

2. User3940

User3940 Active Member

That is not a Sav logo that I recognize, and if I had access to my pipe logo link from my work computer I could tell you who the maker is. I'm sure someone else will jump on this for you.

3. User3940

User3940 Active Member

I am also thinking that the stem may be in upside down. I could be wrong but logos are predominately on the left side of the stem.

4. User3940

User3940 Active Member

The metal rod in the stem is called a stinger and is a type of filtration system. Some are removable, others are pressed in.

5. User3940

User3940 Active Member

Muskie you need to go to the new members section and introduce yourself so you can get flooded with all the welcomes. Great bunk of folks on here with a ton of information for new pipe smokers.

And let me be first to say...........Welcome from New Mexico.

6. DGErwin11

DGErwin11 Moderator Moderator

I am pretty sure the Savinelli logo is an s inside a crown.

User3940 likes this.
  7. User3940

User3940 Active Member