pipe packing issue

Discussion in 'Need Pipe Smoking Advice? Ask an Old Fart!' started by Robert925, Aug 22, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Robert925

Robert925 New Member

I'm new to psf and am still learning how to pack my bowl properly. I think its too loose. I can hear a nice draw but have to relight my pipe after two minutes. Can someone please help so I can begin to enjoy my pipe properly?

2. Luke

Luke Member

Are you tamping the tobacco regularly?

3. Robert925

Robert925 New Member

I tamp it after I fill it three times. I tamp light, Med, and firm. What do u mean by regularly?

4. Luke

Luke Member

When tobacco burns it expands. Its common practise to lightly "tamp" or press down on the tobacco as it burning throughout the smoke to keep the ember in contact with the unburnt tobacco. I'm pretty sure that all pipe smokers have a tamping tool.

http://pipesandcigars.com/3in1czpito.html

this is the most common type I've seen. I would bet this is your problem, if you're not tamping throughout the smoke the pipe is going to go out.

5. Luke

Luke Member

All around pipe smoking guide :)

6. Coastal Bend

Coastal Bend Get off my lawn...

There are going to be a lot of responses to your question. I'll start the confusion for you....

There are many ways to "pack a pipe." None of them really more right than another. There is the "gravity fill" method and the "scoop and load" method, like dipping ice cream. There is the pinch and layer method, which I use often. There is the "pinch and twist" method, taught to me by a little old pipe maker in New Orleans in a shop I wandered into while walking around. With it one holds the pipe in the left hand, grabs a large "wad" of tobacco with the finger tips of the right hand, positions it on the bowl and while kind of forming a cylinder the pipe is twisted back and forth drawing the length of tobacco into the bowl. I still use it once in a while.