Pipe Tobacco Nicotine Level

Discussion in 'The Smoking Lounge' started by JeremyLangford, Oct 18, 2009.

1. JeremyLangford

JeremyLangford New Member

I am definitely a noob when it comes to smoking tobacco. A few months ago, after I graduated high school, me and some friends went to the beach and while we were there we all bought cigars and smoked them every night. I've never pictured myself smoking, but once I learned that you don't necessarily breathe cigar or pipe tobacco into your lungs, I saw little harm in trying it out. I enjoyed the experience and ended up with a major nicotine buzz from my first cigar.

Now that I'm in college, me and the same group of friends went on another similar trip last weekend but this time a couple people had some pipes and different flavored pipe tobaccos. I enjoyed the pipe more than I did the cigars due to the different milder taste and the smoothness. But one thing that bothered me is that I couldn't get any hint of a nicotine buzz. No matter how long I smoked, I never felt anything like I did from the cigars.

Is it normal for most pipe tobacco to have less nicotine than in cigars? I know that the nicotine level varies from different pipe tobaccos but do most pipe smokers not care about getting a nicotine buzz and stay interested in the taste alone?

Thanks
  2. Mister Moo

Mister Moo Stay Calm - Press On Moderator

Speaking only for myself, I don't like high-nic smokes for their own sake. There are a couple of butt-kickers I do like, but for the flavor, not the head rush. Same with cigars - there are some great stogies out there some of which make your head swim and most of which don't.

I like a pipe or two a day but, according to circumstances, I might not smoke for several days at a time. I get no sense of withdrawal as with cigs or dip.
  3. IHT

IHT Member

most bulk aromatic tobaccos are very weak.