Pipe VS Cigar

Discussion in 'Pipe Tobacco' started by kurtis42501, Jul 14, 2011.

1. kurtis42501

kurtis42501 New Member

Hi all. Was looking for a little help, as i am fairly new to pipes. While i enjoy smoking my pipe (an Erik Nording) while sipping a glass of bourbon with friends. i am having trouble finding a tobacco that suits my cigar taste buds. I enjoy a pepper, leather, oak taste with some body. i have tried Crown Acheviment, Captain Black, Sutliff's Great Outdoors, Frog Morton & Astleys no88 to name a few. With Sutliff's being the best so far. Any help would be great. Thanks Kurtis
  2. Smokey

Smokey Member

Key Largo and Bankers have a nice cigarlike flavor to me. There are a couple others out there that are supposed to be good, but I have not had the chance to try them yet.
  3. ruffinogold

ruffinogold Burlatvaperaro !!!! Mayor

The " pepper, leather, oak taste with some body " ... I'd say Petersons Irish Oak or Orlik Kentucky. . but being you say Great outdoors is what you like best so far ... heck , that throws me off cause it's low nicotine and light bodied and sweet ish . Really , most everything fits in between those two . There's alot of people here to suggest though
  4. yinyang

yinyang Some rim charring is to be expected.

Can you clarify 'cigar taste buds' a little? Like Ruffinogold, you threw a monkey wrench into my preconceptions.
  5. RTOdhner

RTOdhner One Burley SOB