1. This forum section is for discussing pipes, it is not for advertising in any fashion.

Pipes $100 $1000

Discussion in 'Pipes' started by Badcompany, Aug 7, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Badcompany

Badcompany Member

Hello Forum,
    Would the tobacco taste any beter in a $1000 pipe than a $100.
    Badcompany.

2. jmiket91

jmiket91 Member

3. user0003

user0003 Well-Known Member

Nope.......but it sure looks better in one.

4. rusty

rusty Member

Other than possibly passing a slight tase of what its made of, I dont think it would. But then Im new to pipes, just my thought.

5. Mister Moo

Mister Moo Normal Cow Moderator

In my mind.

6. Sasquatch

Sasquatch Sales Account

Generally speaking, there is a law of diminishing returns at play. Given a poor 2 dollar piece of briar and a pre-fab stem, Bo Nordh could still only "do so much" in terms of making a great smoker.

Really cheapo briars are not manufactured as well as more expensive ones, by and large. This can include raw materials and quality control. Can you get a great smoker for 30 bucks? Yes. But it's hit and miss.

Up around a hundred bucks, you are starting to pay for a pipe that someone has paid a little more attention to, and at 150 you should be getting a very good pipe indeed. And I'd suggest that this is approximately where the diminishing returns begins to apply. It's possible that with wonder briar and wonder skill, a guy might make a pipe that is marginally better than, say, an off the rack Mastro de Paja, for example. Marginally. So you begin to pay 100% more money for 1% more smoking enjoyment, perhaps.

At some point, you are paying for briar rarity/beauty, and artisan time. And that's cool, there's some unbelievably wicked pipes out there. But by and large, it's tough to beat the mid-grade crowd in terms of smoking value.