1. This forum section is for discussing pipes, it is not for advertising in any fashion.

Pipes for seasons

Discussion in 'Pipes' started by Buck1, Jun 5, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Buck1

Buck1 Member

Hello all, I am fairly new to pipe smoking and have a question.

Well I have lots of questions, But the one pressing at hand is if you have prefrences as to
    what pipe you grab.

I.E.; Peterson dry system if its humid
    Thin wall if cold
    Thick wall if hot

Central IL this time of year is pretty hot and humid. Maybe I'm just not letting my tobacco
    dry out before I pack it. But I'm no good at planning. :rolleyes:

I have a pretty good selection, as I have jumped in with both feet.
    Counted yesterday 14 with 2 on the way. <3# of tobacco:ohyh: (3 mo. time)
    My pete 307 does alright, but some other pipes I have to break down and run a pipe cleaner through
    3 to 5 times a bowl.
    Thoughts?
    John

2. Old Ted

Old Ted Active Member

Sorry! - but if I had to run a cleaner through 3-5 times a bowl - I would either throw that pipe away, give up smoking, or seek medical advice!:eek:....well you did say - "thoughts?"

3. WillH

WillH Active Member

When it's humid there's not much you can do! You get a lot of moisture from the air. If the smoke is good just enjoy! Used the pipe cleaners. There is no rule about how many to use! Use what you need. If the smoke is not going well, then a little more drying will help. IMO

Also, there's lots of mechanical issues that make a pipe gurgle. Your smoking habits can be an issue as well. I suspect you're pulling too hard on the pipe!

I'll let Sas or some other pipe maker delve into dealing with mechanical problems with you. But anything that disturbes the air flow within pipe will cause moisture to collect where there's turbulence.
    Will

4. snowman

snowman Member