probably some dumb questions

Discussion in 'Pipe Tobacco' started by JoeSmall, Apr 19, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. JoeSmall

JoeSmall Member

As most of you know I'm fairly new to all this and I was wondering if there is a description of how different types of tobaccos taste/smell. I have experience with CH, PA, Capt. Black gold, and Middleton's apple. I have unopened pouches of Velvet and H&H to try also. I could be mistaken but those are all burley blends aren't they? How do you describe the taste of Latakia or Oriental or Virginia or perique or even burley or Cavendish? I assume (and I could be wrong) that like cooking different percentages of some or all of these in different blends could lead to almost infinite flavors. I'm trying to figure out what I read on the forums to help figure out what type of blends I will enjoy and what types to avoid but I just don't understand the basics and I've tried the search function but don't know enough to type in a phrase that will give me the relevant threads. Of the tobaccos I tried the only one I didn't really care for was the apple because it seemed like I was getting steam mixed in with the smoke (which could well be my technique or lack thereof). Is there a tobacco university or some place I could read about this or can some of the more experienced members please help me resolve my ignorance?

Besides the taste issue I'm also wondering about compressed tobacco (coins, medallions, flakes etc) and bulk tobaccos, does all the advanced stuff (not ribbon, shag, whatever) come in tins and all the easy stuff come in bulk?

Thank you for helping me figure all this stuff out.

Joshiah

2. Thuber88

Thuber88 Well-Known Member

3. scopawl

scopawl Member