1. This forum section is for discussing pipes, it is not for advertising in any fashion.

Really Dumb Question

Discussion in 'Pipes' started by pauljmjr, Jan 16, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. pauljmjr

pauljmjr Member

I can't believe I need to ask this question, as I've been smoking pipes for 40 years, but here goes. I've never had a pipe with a filter. But I just bought my first filtered pipe - a nice Savinelli. I bought it from Smokingpipes.com, and their website indicates that this pipe (a Morino Bent Billiard) takes a 6 mm filter, which I purchased along with the pipe. The problem is that the filter does not seem to fit! I don't get it - I just don't see how the thing is suppossed to fit. Any help for the dimwit here would be really appreciated.

2. Stonewall

Stonewall Active Member

Is it a Balsa wood filter?

3. pauljmjr

pauljmjr Member

Yes it is - made by Savielli.

4. Morse

Morse Active Member

The 6mm balsa filters go into the stem as follows. Sometimes you sort of scrape off the corners as you are putting it in there but that's nothing to be particularly concerned about.

[​IMG]

and its not a dumb question if you've never seen one of these before.

5. rlucas

rlucas Active Member

My Sav has a insert that needs to be removed before the filter will fit. If you don't want to use the filter, leave the insert in and smoke without the filter. The insert is just a small plastic tube that should fall right out of the stem. I said this because if it doesn't I wouldn't want you to try and pull the insert out and break something.

6. Stonewall

Stonewall Active Member

As Morse alluded to, the filters can be a little snug when inserting them into the stem; although if you squeeze the ends a bit prior to putting them in it works a lot easier.

7. pauljmjr

pauljmjr Member