Review of Altinok AutoGraph 124: My first meer

Discussion in 'Meerschaum Pipes' started by Ozzie, Feb 18, 2012.

1. Ozzie

Ozzie Member

The mailman finally smiled on me today, and I received a yellow package from Turkey containing my long awaited first meerschaum pipe...the Altinok AutoGraph 124. I still have a second Altinok pipe that I'm waiting for (currently being carved in Turkey.)

This being my first pipe review ever, and given that I am a meerschaum amateur, please cut me a little slack if this review is subpar to what you are used to. Also, please excuse the poor quality pictures that fail to do the pipe any justice, but I have an old and cheap digital camera that needs replacing.

First Impression: 4.5 out of 5
    The pipe turned out to be a lot bigger than I expected (which is not necessarily a bad thing.) At first glance the pipe seems to look exactly like what I ordered, and the quality of the finish seems extremely good. Fit and finish between the stem and the shank is perfect. The only reason I will give it a 4.5 out of 5 is because at certain angles and under the right lighting condition, I notice one extremely small scratch on the bottom of the pipe. It's almost invisible, but it's there and has to be mentioned. I don't mind though, since I'm sure I'll do worse to it over hopefully many years of use.

[​IMG]

Presentation: 4 out of 5
    The pipe did come with a little bit of meerschaum dust inside the chamber, but a quick pass with the pipe cleaner down the stem, and a quick swipe with a towel inside the chamber took care of that. The pipe came with a personalized certificate of authenticity, a receipt, and a business card. The case is or a reddish brown color, lined with white velvet inside. The fit of the pipe inside the case is perfect, though the fit and finish of the case itself seems a little sloppy in some areas.

Properties of the meer/pipe balance: 5 out of 5