1. If you cannot verify your email address or recover your password, you need to call your ISP and tell them to stop blocking your email from this site.
    Dismiss Notice

Sam Gawith blends?

Discussion in 'Pipe Tobacco' started by dmkerr, Feb 17, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. dmkerr

dmkerr PG- free since '83! Moderator

I'm a newbie here, so I apologize if my needle is stuck in a groove here.

Has anyone any news of when (or, God forbid, if!) SG tobaccos will be back in the U.S? It's been a very long time and I've heard nothing lately, good or bad.

In an attempt to sound less whiny, I will say that I probably would not have discovered G&H tobaccos, were it not for the SG shortage. But there doesn't seem to be a good replacement for BBF, at least not that I've found.

Anyone hear anything at all?

2. MikePiper1

MikePiper1 Member

I contacted the Sam Gawith factory about two years ago about this very issue and they assured me that more inventory was on it's way to the US. I guess we all know how true that statement was.
    I've been trying for 2.5 years to get my hands on some FVF with no success. So now I visit my one jar of cellared FVF on a weely basis and stare longinly into it's golden brown goodness and sigh.
    Unfortunatley the demand for SG products is so high that I doubt they will ever catch up the supply.

Isn't the law of supply and demand wonderful?!

3. yinyang

yinyang Some rim charring is to be expected.

No word here.

Have you tried G&H Brown Flake, unscented yet? I can't say they are close, since I had them at different times, but my gut reaction is that they are.

4. dmkerr

The law is wonderful because it always works! It just doesn't always work to the consumers benefit. So yeah, I see what you mean! :D