1. This forum is for DIY Repair, Maintenance & Restoration. It is not a forum for seeking or soliciting services.

Sanding and polishing a meerschaum

Discussion in 'Repair, Maintenance & Restoration' started by dwaugh, Sep 22, 2011.

1. dwaugh

dwaugh Moderator Moderator

A couple of months ago I bought a used CAO meerschaum at a flea market for 8 dollars. The pipe was in decent shape, but I was really bugged by the grinding/sanding marks on the rim; I'm assuming they were left from the manufacturing process. I was not looking for perfection. I don't mind the gentle wear marks, scratches etc. on the bowl that come with use, nor the blackened rim. I just knew that looking at grinding marks on the rim would bug be me while smoking the pipe. Seeing at the pipe was only 8 dollars, I figured I would try to sand them out.

Notice: I am not an expert (or even experienced working with meerschaum). This is a what I did, not a "how to". I may have been lucky; and certainly was aware that I could really screw things up. So, don't go doing anything like this and then blame me:)

[​IMG]
    Here are the offending grinding marks, going SW to NE

[​IMG]
    The rim after sanding. I started with 600 grit wet/dry paper and worked my way up. I kept the paper wet, I'm not sure if that was necessary, it may have only softened the meer, but the marks are gone. The outer edge of the rim, after sanding, made a sharp corner with the sides of the bowl making the pipe look as if someone had taken taken sandpaper to it (oh yea, I did), but the sharp edge was easy to knock down with the finest paper. After some melted beeswax the pipe was to go. Haven't smoked it yet though. -David

[​IMG]
  2. shadow

shadow Active Member

Excellent job, David!