1. This forum section is for discussing pipes, it is not for advertising in any fashion.

Savinelli pipe owners

Discussion in 'Pipes' started by LutzSpearo, May 28, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. LutzSpearo

LutzSpearo Member

How often do you change your balsa filter? Every bowl, every x bowls?

How long do you wait after smoking until you take the stem out and clean the pipe? A day, 10 minutes? I understand it needs to cool off, but I'm curious if it matters if one waits a couple days.

Do you find any problems from leaving a moist filter in the shank/stem after smoking?

I've been smoking for a couple months now, and love my Savinelli's. I'm interested in hearing how others care for their Savs. Any tips or advice are welcome!

Huby Springer likes this.
  2. DeusExMachina

DeusExMachina Member

I usually use my balsa wood filters for two smoke sessions. Usually. If it's a sav with a dedicated blend- I just flip the filter around, and seems to work pretty well for me. If I'm smoking different blends? Then once, for sure.

I treat the pipe like any other I own, and just wait before its cool and dry before I clean it. This is usually a couple hours? I throw them on my desk and get into something for a while, then come back. I always do a sniff test on the filters before putting it back in the pipe, sometimes they can get pretty bad smelling.

I've left dirty filters in my savs, sure. Never noticed a problem, but I'm usually pretty good with cleaning after each smoke.

Other than the filter flipping/replacing, I treat my savs just like my other pipes. I'm sure there are people that leave filter in for seven smokes, or maybe just four, but two seems to be my max.

3. Jim44

Jim44 Member