1. If you cannot verify your email address or recover your password, you need to call your ISP and tell them to stop blocking your email from this site.
    Dismiss Notice

Smoking ruined dinner tonight.

Discussion in 'The Smoking Lounge' started by CustomDave, Nov 6, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. CustomDave

CustomDave Member

Nov 4, 2010
    So, I am pretty new to pipe smoking. Been at it about a month I guess and really enjoying it.

Tonight I decided to grill some KC strip steaks I had bought earlier this week. Nicely trimmed thick cut. They looked mouthwatering. I consider myself to be pretty good at grilling and BBQing in general. Smoking and grilling meats is a true family tradition and something I have known how to do for as long as I can remember. I can't remember the last time I ruined a meat on the grill before tonight.

So Tonight when I light up the grill I decide to light up the pipe with my new favorite blend called Irish Whiskey from a local B&M. Once the coals were at the right temp I threw the steaks on (off heat cooking of course) and added a few wood chips to give a bit of smokey flavor. About that time I noticed how well the pipe had been smoking up to that point. For the first time I could really taste some flavor and was getting no bite whatsoever. It was fantastic. I just relaxed in the chair on the deck and listened to some blues music. Really enjoying the pipe for the first time. After a few songs I got up and flipped the steaks. They were still looking good at this point, and the toby was still tasting great. I sat back in the chair enjoying the music and the pipe. Only had to re light it once, which was a real treat for me. Everything pipe wise was going better than ever. Then I realized the bowl was empty and wondered how long I had been sitting there. I rushed over to check the steaks. While not burned they were definitely well done. :thumbsdown: I prefer a pretty rare cooked steak.