Suggestions??

Discussion in 'Pipe Tobacco' started by powell0892, Dec 12, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. powell0892

powell0892 Member

Hey guys I need some help, I am trying to find some more baccys to enjoy. I have tried most of the OTC's at this point and even some Boswell aromatics, I try and stick with something that has somewhat of a decent roomnote for the wife, but as you all know most of the aromatic OTC have little flavor and tend to be very goopy, so recently I have started a journey to try and find light aro's/non-aromatic hopefully to get more flavor yet still please the wife, however when I start to look I get very overwhelmed with the variety as I am still fairly new to the pipe world. Any help or guidance would be appreciated.

2. cmw00

cmw00 Member

I enjoy both Dan's Blue Note and Mac Baren's Vanilla Cream. They both offer good flavorings, the tobacco flavor still comes through, and they have extremely pleasant room notes!

I just got a tin of Mac Baren's Mixture. It has a fantastic flavor and smell also, but I haven't smoked as much of it yet.

3. powell0892

powell0892 Member

Thanks charlie have you or anyone else tried Dans sweet honeydew?

4. pottsy

pottsy Member

You have been around here long enough, have you signed up for the FNG/FOG trade? I did a few months ago, and it opened my eyes to a wide variety of baccy's that I probably never would have tried otherwise. You sound like a prime candidate for it.

As for your question though, you are probably just going to have to try a few and see how it goes. I have smoked some that my girl didn't want to be anywhere near, and especially not down wind of. Others, that I thought she wouldn't care for, she liked the smell of, so it's really hit and miss.

Some I would recommend:

Presbyterian
    Peterson Sweet Killarney

5. bandlwalmer

bandlwalmer Member